E18hteen – 4. Mission Impossible – ‘Dosth’ Protocol

0/18 – Prologue

1/18 – A Walk To Remember

2/18 – You’ve Got Mail

3/18 – Cast(e)Away


4/18 Mission Impossible – ‘Dosth’ Protocol

“Abhi… I’m no less filmy than you… Rahul was the epitome of everything I needed then. He was a dream and treated me like a princess… Something you failed to do… Repeatedly… To add molaga podi to payasam, you used to ridicule my fascination for Disney Princesses… Coming back to Rahul, I loved the constant pampering and attention… Yeah we had our arguments and fights, but he always made up beautifully…

The phase with my Rahul Samuel was the most beautiful of all my relationships… Including you too… Well it didn’t last long with him, hardly 317 days 16 hours and 24 minutes…

Somehow in the middle of all this, you came back into my life bearing  news of the Priyanka debacle… And sometime later, I don’t know what prompted me to tell you about Rahul… But you seemed to be surprisingly cool about it…

Though I didn’t realize it then, you were gradually becoming my sounding board… I remember the times when you patiently heard my rants about Samuel… You were the only GUY who knew about him and hence became my avenue into his head…

You never once spoke anything ill about him… This was quite impossible especially taking our history into account… I expected you to change your opinion at least after the personal meeting you had with him… On retrospect, your actions made sense and it was bloody sinister…

This new found comfort and your presence around me wasn’t a bother anymore… You had a look through the mails, the letters amd the gifts he sent across… It seemed as normal as Ashwathy or Nandini or Swathi going through it…

Meeting you a lot during the various culturals, your coming down to my place more frequently became a norm those days. Rahul was away from the city due to work commitments most of the time and meeting him became a rarity…

Just towards the end of first year of college Amma came to know about Sam…

The days that followed were nothing short of what I’ve heard about third degree treatment… It was torturous… Physically and emotionally taxing… When they understood that I was stubborn and relentless, they agreed to meet him on one condition…  They will meet him, talk to him and of course judge him. If the reasons they give for not accepting him as a prospective son in law are justified, that’s the be all and end all of things…  

I knew my Rahul and convincing my parents would be a cakewalk… My future was to be with him and it was going to be as awesome as planned… I was excited and you were the first one to know about the things that were to unfold on that fateful Saturday…

I remember receiving your call that evening and telling you about the fiasco… My idea of Rahul crumbled right in front of my eyes and I had to listen to my parents…

A lot of things happened later but I’ve got two things to say to you about the whole thing…

1. Thank God… You came home next day

2. You are one Cheeky B#$!@%&

 ”

I expected sympathy or even happiness, when I told her about my present predicament. I didn’t expect her to use this time to inform me about that phlow… Ragul Saamivel…

I didn’t know what to respond and all I could muster was, ” Hey Sooper sooper… Treat… 😀 ”

 I wanted Mother Earth to open her bosom and suck me right in…

The next few weeks were flucking irritating and borderline hurting. I became one of her girlfriends, listening to her talking dreamily about that Ragul. I knew everything that was going on between them. I got to know about how they met, the oh so cute monikers they gave each other, the list of things she adores about him, the gifts she received, his profession and their too good to be real relationship…

I still waited for Mother Earth to do the needful…

It took most of my resolve to patiently lend a sympathetic ear to everything. Everytime she spoke about him in any context and especially whenever she said that this was her best relationship ever,  I could feel the hatred in my heart for someone I’ve never met… But every second she spoke to me about anything but him, intense affection warmed my heart which quenched that anger.

My college guys rightly termed me a LOSER… But the heart does want, what it wants… Or in other words, I was flucked up…

Then one fine day, I heard my hostel warden call out my name… “Abhimanyu Arjunan Menon, your cousin has come to meet you…” Those days my relationship with my cousins was virtually non existent… So I was pretty skeptical about this ‘cousin’… I walked out to see that Mr. Ragul had come to visit…

Rina had been praising me to the hilt and impressed upon him, my importance in her life… Especially how I’ve been the one guy who understood the trials and tribulations of the complicated relationship they shared…

He spent the next two hours thanking me profusely and started showing me the photos of his life as a globetrotting chef… He spoke about the way he leads his life and how interesting it would become with Rina’s inclusion… He gave excruciating details about the life he had planned with ‘his’ Rina…

That’s when I realized I’d become his sounding board too…

Oye Mother Earth… Hello…. Still here…

Right when I was thinking of shedding my Jesus Christ persona, I received a call from Rina…

” Abhi… Ma knows everything… Sam is coming down to meet my parents tomorrow… I am scared… What do I do???”

Somehow shedding that persona then, didn’t make sense and I talked her through it. I had to falsely promise that everything would be alright… I knew it wouldn’t and certainly hoped so too…

I texted her the following evening but there was no reply… Later that night, I called her… She cried her eyes out, words became mostly incoherent and all i could make out was that Ragul flucked up… Miserably… There was nothing at all with which she could defend him. She was helpless seeing him defenseless… All I could muster was a few encouraging words and long silences… After disconnecting the call, I could hardly fathom my feelings… Was it elation or sadness that engulfed me due to her relationship status…

 

I was still confused when I walked into her house the next day. Aunty led me into Rina’s room and asked me to talk some sense into her… I sat opposite her on the bed and we spoke …

After a couple of hours when Aunty came to give us a glass of juice… Rina was sitting beside me…

An hour later when her brother came to give us some refreshments, Rina was talking to me with her head on my shoulders…

There was no interruption for another hour… We spoke a lot more and finally it was time to leave and I walked towards the door…

Mrinalini Kannan gave me a nudge, turned me towards her, held my face and said, “Abhimanyu Arjunan Menon… You have no idea how what this means to me… “. She pulled me down and placed a kiss on my forehead…

Thank you Mother Earth for your amazing patience. ..

I was so ecstatic thinking of the new avenue that was opened just now… Long hours of being the ‘Friend’ was bearing fruit finally… I just crept out of that flucking awful place… I could hear violins being played with a surprisingly constant drum beat…

That’s exactly when the door to her room opened…

2 thoughts on “E18hteen – 4. Mission Impossible – ‘Dosth’ Protocol

  1. Pingback: E18hteen – 5. Shakespeare In Love – The Hatman Writes

Leave a Reply

