The Priya Bhavani Shankar Interview for Yaanai

From being a newsreader to now making headlines herself, Priya Bhavani Shankar has had an inspiring journey in Tamil cinema. As a cub reporter, she had the opportunity to interview Dhanush, and a decade later, she is now starring opposite him in the upcoming film, Thiruchitrambalam. This change of fortune isn’t lost on her. “Some like me for what I do, but I also know people who believe I don’t deserve this success. This was not the career I planned on, but I am giving it my all, and things are getting better.”

She sees her recent release, director Hari’s Yaanai, as one such effort. After having worked with many debutants and young filmmakers, Priya is now getting a chance to work with veterans like Hari, Shankar (Indian 2), and Radha Mohan (Bommai). “It’s a bit scary. Other actors might get the leeway of appearing in ‘small’ characters in big films, but for some reason, audiences seem to take it personally when I play such roles. However, I have realised the importance of being part of big-ticket films. Also, the roles in these projects have been impactful, and more importantly, respectful of me.” Looking back at her career, she has her fair share of regrets. “I have rejected films that didn’t offer me strong roles, but honestly, they might have given me more mileage to develop my career. I also remember that stalwarts thought of a ‘nobody’ like me for their films. All I want today is to make myself more deserving and worthy.”

READ FULL INTERVIEW HERE

Leave a comment